Announcements

Welcome!

This is the return of Kitten's Romance Playroom! I am so excited to be bringing this blog back and get things rolling. It will take me some time to get back to the followers I had before.

But I have some exciting things planned. Some giveaways, tour hosting, and reviews that have been just waiting to get out in the open. So tell your friends! Tell some authors, I am so ready to get this ball rolling!

Kitten

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Review: Lothaire (Immortals After Dark #12) by Kresley Cole

ALL FEAR THE ENEMY OF OLD

Driven by his insatiable need for revenge, Lothaire, the Lore’s most ruthless vampire, plots to seize the Horde’s crown. But bloodlust and torture have left him on the brink of madness—until he finds Elizabeth Peirce, the key to his victory. He captures the unique young mortal, intending to offer up her very soul in exchange for power, yet Elizabeth soothes his tormented mind and awakens within him emotions Lothaire believed he could no longer experience.

A DEADLY FORCE DWELLS WITHIN HER

Growing up in desperate poverty, Ellie Peirce yearned for a better life, never imagining she’d be convicted of murder—or that an evil immortal would abduct her from death row. But Lothaire is no savior, as he himself plans to sacrifice Ellie in one month’s time. And yet the vampire seems to ache for her touch, showering her with wealth and sexual pleasure. In a bid to save her soul, Ellie surrenders her body to the wicked vampire, while vowing to protect her heart.

CENTURIES OF COLD INDIFFERENCE SHATTERED

Elizabeth tempts Lothaire beyond reason, as only his fated mate could. As the month draws to a close, he must choose between a millennia-old blood vendetta and his irresistible prisoner. Will Lothaire succumb to the miseries of his past . . . or risk everything for a future with her?


Kitten's Review:



Lothaire… Oh, finally I am given the chance to review your wickedness. How do I love this book, let me count the ways… Now, I can’t count the ways, I will be here forever if I count the ways I love this book. I’m going to tell you why…

Lothaire is insane. That is fact. He is not all there, he had drank too much blood, he has to many memories, and he is in dire need of revenge and getting back at all the things that have wronged him along with getting back to his homeland. He is the rightful ruler. But—Lothaire is insane. With that being said we are taken on this man’s journey of a happily ever after, that should probably not be afforded one given all the bad he has done in the world in the name of revenge and his own end game.

Enter Elizabeth, or Ellie. Who is possessed by the death goddess, Saroya—a right bitch. I’m not joking, she is the death goddess. Which means she shuns sex, because sex creates life, and that’s just gross to her. Lothaire is under the misguided impression that said death goddess is his bride. Well, the powers that be aren’t that easy—nor are they predictable. We are tossed back and forth with Lothaire fighting his lust for Ellie and trying to come to terms with the fact he is mated to the death goddess who doesn’t want to hump him. Therefore, the insane in him has moments of treating Ellie like crap. Um, hello—good or bad the dudes a vampire. He’s not Angel, he’s not Stefan, he’s not Edward Cullen. Lothaire doesn’t glitter, or drink from the bag. The dude is a baddie and that is the cool factor he has doing for him. Can bad guys love—its debatable, but he loves Ellie. He learns how to care for his bride through trial and error and it was so fun to watch.

She wasn’t going to put up with his crap after a certain amount of time, and he thought she had abandoned him. It just wouldn’t be a paranormal romance if there was proper communication people!! It is the driving theme of every storyline! So, I gotta say, this was one of my favorites in the series. I can’t wait for the next!
 

Monday, February 4, 2013

Review: Forever Mine (The Moreno Brothers #1) by Elizabeth Reyes

Mature YA-romance

Seventeen-year old Sarah’s life is turned upside down when her single mom is sent to jail. She’s forced to move, leaving behind everything she’s ever known, including her best friend Sydney. Lost and bitter in a new school, her one goal is to save money and move back home. Then she meets Angel Moreno.

Enigmatic but gorgeous, Angel is almost too good to be true. Except for one thing, his archaic belief that guys and girls can never be “just friends”. The problem? Sarah’s best friend Sydney is not a girl.

With their unexpected romance intensifying to places neither ever experienced, how long can Sarah keep Angel in the dark about the guy waiting for her back home?


Kitten's Review:


I read Forever Mine last September. I am just now getting to the review. I was worried that I would forget or need to reread the book in order to review it. I am happy to say that this was not the case. This was my first ‘mature young adult’ books. I didn’t really know what to expect going into a book with that label. I was worried that it would glorify sex and a young age and make it acceptable in this day and age. I mean, let’s face it, teen sex happens. Sixteen and Pregnant is an example of that glaring fact.

However, this story handled the mature issue so well!

I was left with feeling heavily for all these characters even though I was well out of the range of high school. I graduated over twelve years ago, yet, here I was totally relating to Sarah, the main character. Her fears, her needs, her tension, and her hang ups—which I have come to realize that teenagers tend to have the same sort of hang ups no matter who they were. Angel would get on my nerves to the point I wanted to beat him up in the school quad at noon! Then again, so many high school guys have this same, ‘Girls and boys aren’t just friends’, it mostly stems from the fact that they can’t be friends with girls these particular guys. Then they met a girl, like Sarah that they can pretty much be both with. I loved this story, despite some of the clichĂ©s that were dabbed in for effect. Let’s face it, Reyes gets teenagers spot on.

I highly recommend Forever Mine to lovers of young adult romance!

Monday, January 28, 2013

Review: Release Me (Stark Trilogy #1) by J. Kenner

He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.
 
Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.


Kitten's Review:



I would like to start off this review by saying the publisher, or whoever is marketing this book is doing it a great disservice by comparing it to 50 Shades of Grey. I nearly didn’t read this book because of that glaring quote in the blurb of the book. It is nothing like 50 Shades of Grey. A hot alpha Billionaire does not a Christian Grey make. This book was also very well written and edited.

With that being said, Release Me was the shock of my reading life. I thought I would hate it. I did hate it at times. I thought I would want to throw my eReader out the window. Oh, it nearly happened many, many times. However, I was addicted. I couldn’t stop. My pulse was pounding, my heart was open, and I couldn’t rip my eyes away from this book once I started it. Damian Stark is NOT Christian Grey! He is better mannered, has less control issues, he is better at BDSM, and he is just a more likeable man in general. Damian let her be her own person. He didn’t mold or try to change. He knew Nikki was strong just the way she was, and he complimented her personality. I actually cared about him in this story. He was so well written as this mystery man, that I was like…Hm, I think I want to know more about him. My main complaints were about Nikki. She just made me want to push her around a few times. I wasn’t sold on her ‘inner turmoil’, the cutting? It worked in the Secretary because it wasn’t as punctuated. It just didn’t work for me in this story as the driving reason why she wouldn’t give herself over to Damian. The dude was messed up in his own right, the last thing that guy was gonna do was be judgy.

If I was to rate the story, Release Me was very well written, well paced, and I wasn’t bored or skimming sections of the story at all. I wanted to know every thought, every emotion, and every detail of this love story. It was hopelessly flawed in the best of ways. It wasn’t a rip off of someone else’s story, this was its own story, with its own themes and conflicts and I appreciated that. I am so glad that I took a chance on this story despite the pitch that it was another 50 Shades. There was one huge glaring reality about this book—it was well written all around. Likable characters, quick witted dialogue, no repetition, and the sex scenes were well placed and easily written and damned clever and sexy.

I highly recommend this story to all my reading followers! I can’t wait for the sequel.
 

Friday, January 25, 2013

Review: Fray by Joss Whedon

Hundreds of years in the future, Manhattan has become a deadly slum, run by mutant crime-lords and disinterested cops. Stuck in the middle is a young girl who thought she had no future, but learns she has a great destiny. In a world so poisoned that it doesn't notice the monsters on its streets, how can a street kid like Fray unite a fallen city against a demonic plot to consume mankind? Joss Whedon, the celebrated creator of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, brings his vision to the future in this unique tale. As inventive in the comics medium as in that of television of film, Whedon spins a complex tale of a skilled thief coming of age without the help of friends or family, guided only by a demonic Watcher.

Kitten's Review:


Welcome to my second endevour into the world of the graphic novel. I have to say, this is still a comic to me. It reads like a comic, the art is amazing, like a comic, but it tells one hell of a damned good story. Fray is the story of the slayer of the future. Like two hundred years in the future!

Not only had no one needed the chosen on, or Buffy for quite some time now. The myth and legend of the slayer has been just as dead. Enter Fray. A savvy street smart kick ass female that also seems to be a thief; a really good thief. If you need it, Fray can get it. Then enter her being… the chosen one! Oh yes, two hundred years from now, the now insane council has realized that the slayer is in need, and vampires are still roaming the streets. However, it isn’t the council that calls upon the chosen one—it’s a demon. A pretty cool demon I might add. He is huge, scary, and trains the shit out of our little Fray. He also does some questionable stuff too in the name of making the slayer, well, the slayer.

Another story by Whedon that we can gush over and obsess with, not only does he create a world of utter chaos, but he slaps our delicate little flower Fray with trails of war that will shape and mold one hell of a woman. If you haven’t read this graphic novel, do it! I loved it and have now stolen the name of the future slayer for my review persona.

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Review: Winter Eve by Lia Davis

There comes a time when setting your differences aside isn’t just necessary, it’s a means of survival. After losing over half of their dens to a group rogue shifters, the wolves and leopards merged as one Pack, but living together is much more of a challenge then they expected.

Danica Welsh was born to be the leopard pack healer. An accident involving a drug induced youth left her badly burned and scared—emotionally and physically. Without the ability to heal by touch, she secludes herself to the edge of town, away from Ashwood Falls’ overly concerned citizens. All hope of mating and family become a distance dream. When she finally starts to accepts the long, lonely existence ahead of her, a stranger crashes into her life, and her heart. 

After Nevan Mathews’ fiancĂ© died three ago, he submerged himself into his work, cutting off all reminders of a life he dreamed of with the woman he loved. He lets his step-mother talk him into taking the first vacation in five years to visit for the holidays. But an accident delays his travel plans, sending him to Danica’s doorstep and raises a need he thought he would never feel again. 
Can they tear down the walls around their hearts and submit to the passion before another claims Dani for his own? 

Warning: Contains a shifter who's scars run deeper than skin, a human who has the heart of a shifter, and a snow storm that's sure to have them both reaching for warmth.

Kitten's Review: 


WinterEve is a warm short read that introduces us to the series Ashwood Falls; a town in which shifters thrive and follow their own set of rules. With some sexy men and independent strong women that I loved we follow the romance of Danica and Nevan. I have to be honest, I really struggled to rate this story. I am struggling now to review it. Although, I really loved the world building in this story, and all the character surrounding the lead two, I didn’t totally connect with Danica and Nevan. I really wanted to care if they fell in love and ended up together, I just didn’t. As character they were written well, as a match they fell slightly short in the connection part for me. Lia is a solid writer that made me believe that this town existed in the beautiful snow covered region of America, but I really fought to want these two to be together. Nevan was a conflicted character that had grown up with shifters, and therefore was acceptable for Danica to mate with. However, toss in an angry shifter that wants to ‘take care of her’, you have your conflict. I think I liked Jared more. He was pure male aggression and he knew what he wanted. With a woman that brings him to his knees he would make one heck of a book! I really want to continue the Ashwood Falls series. The other character made me curious and made me want some more, a full length book where the main characters have more time to find a romance that was true and honest. I recommend Winter Eve to those that love their shifter books!

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Review: The Sweetest Torture by Amanda Bonilla

Thirty years ago, when the sultry and headstrong Cait left Logan Paige, the Alpha cougar shapeshifter of his Montana pride, his entire world came crashing down. He couldn’t explain where he’d been the previous night or why there was a strange woman in his bed…because he had no memory of the night before. Wounded and betrayed, Cait refused to listen to Logan’s excuses and walked straight out of his life…determined to exact her revenge on the sexy cougar who had crushed her heart. With a little help from her influential father, she made sure that Logan’s business, as well as his life, crumbled into ruins. Hell hath no fury, indeed.

But now it’s thirty years later and two of Montana’s most powerful cougar prides are on the brink of war. A tenuous peace is reached, but it’s dependent on Cait and Logan marrying on All Hallow’s Eve. Spitfire Cait has her own plans of revenge…using her feminine wiles to turn Logan into a purring kitty lapping cream at her feet. And Logan has his schemes to regain control and dominate like the Alpha he is…

When they realize that the erotic passion between them is still so intense, Logan and Cait will have to decide if dwelling in the past is worth sacrificing the future…

Kitten's Review:


Oh, how The Sweetest Torture was one of the best shifter books I have ever read. I have to say, that I am a huge fan of the ‘mating heat’ part of shifter books. Only because it forces souls to meet and connect on that primal, authentic animal level, it is raw, and if done right, totally hot. I gotta say, this book gets it sooooo very right.

Not only were we confronted with a dueling mated pair, but a conflict that was so intense that you were totally feeling for Cait right out of the gate. I mean it was infidelity—in mate pairs. Yeah, I was so on Cait’s side with this one. Then some inner dialogue took place and then we see that there was nothing unfaithful it was a set up…

Oh, yes a set up.

So, what are two hot in heat mated beasts to do? Well, mate of course! And so they did, and boy was it a hot smoldering scene of yummy, the storyline had some meat to it as well. We had to clear up the misunderstanding, and deal with a possible kidnapping in the climax of the story. For a short read The Sweetest Torture managed to make me a fan of Ms. Bonilla. I instantly went and grabbed some of her books in the series she has out and can’t wait to read the rest! I highly recommend this quick, sexy read for any shifter fans!

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Review: Bunny and the Bear by Eve Langlais

What’s a poor bear to do when all he wants is some sweet, bunny pie

Bears and bunnies aren’t supposed to mix, or that’s what Chase keeps telling himself when his bouncy new neighbor won’t stay out of his business—and his mind. However, the more he gets to know his overly perky neighbor, the more he craves her—naked in his grasp—a desire worse than his addiction to honey and pie. 

Miranda’s on a mission for the Furry United Coalition, and it involves secretly guarding one grumpy ol’ bear. Staying focused on the job isn’t easy when all she can think about is turning his frown upside down, a task made harder when she gets a glimpse of his passion. When she hears about his theory on woodland creatures and predators not mixing, she thinks all is lost, but she didn’t count on a bear’s curious nature—and possessive need. 

When an evil force abducts Chase, Miranda unleashes her bunny in order to save him, but the revelation of her shifter side puts her in danger. Is one ornery bear enough to save her from a mad scientist? And if he does, can a bear forget her woodland creature status long enough to love her and make her his mate? 

Warning: Pies were harmed in the making of this story and naughty references made about honey that might offend some readers


Kitten's Review:


I don’t know if there are words for Bunny and the Bear. If I am being honest I spent a good portion of the book laughing really hard because the clever inner dialogue was so fantastic that I couldn’t get over it. Not only did Eve get grumpy bear shifter and hoppy bunny shifter spot on fantastic, she gave an edge of your seat story that kept me reading and wanting more. I couldn’t stop. I was so totally infested in this couple that every impulse has me wanting to continue the series at this very moment.

From beginning to end I was sucked in. I had been few and far between the books that get five star reviews from me lately. I am able to put books down a lot lately. Not this one. Not only did I want the romance to progress, but I wanted to know who was kidnapping the shifters, who was the baddie, and what was going to happen when they came face to face with archaic bunny and big bad grumpy old bear.

The inner dialogue did it for me. I mean he was just flat out an honest to god horny, dirty, grumpy bear, and she was just so flat out funny at being ADHD in bunny shifter form. The story had great flow and was totally entertaining. That is what I want from my books. I would recommend Bunny and the Bear for any shifter fan!

Monday, January 21, 2013

Review: Nice Girl (Girl Series) by Kate Baum

Graduate student Grace Locke moves from the Midwest to New York City to complete her Masters degree in Criminology. She longs to one day be a college professor. It is a field that is dominated by men. She is worried about succeeding in such an atmosphere. Past sexual relationships have caused her to feel intimidated. Her experiences with college men have left her jaded and unsatisfied. She gives herself a challenge. Time to toughen up or she won’t make it in a career she yearns for. She decides to surround herself with alpha males so that she can practice becoming what she sees as a strong confident woman. She finds power and defiance in her new attitude...until Vinnie. 

When Grace takes a part time secretarial job at a private investigator office, she assumes it will be interesting to watch how the cases unfold. It is close to her campus apartment and gives her the extra cash she needs as a struggling college student. Even more perfect is that the office is surrounded by street wise hardened males. Now, she can get the needed practice at increasing her confidence among men. She wasn’t prepared for Vinnie Lewis. A former hit man who decides to go straight, he is the ultimate “bad boy”. After growing up with a prostitute mother on the streets of New York City, he has no patience for nice girls like Grace. He is difficult to work with. She finds him just plain scary with his six foot four frame, bulging biceps, and a scar from a former knife fight that goes across his right ear to his chin. She shakes in his presence but then ……. is shocked when she can’t stop thinking of him.


*****Contains graphic sex scenes. For adults only *****


Kitten's Review:


I have to say that it is very rare that I find a book that I just can’t put down until I finish it.

Nice Girl was one of those books. It surprised me on many levels that I was so totally taken with this story. I think for the most part was I honestly liked all the characters. So much so that I yelled out when it was over! I didn’t want it to end and it was nearly 3 AM when I finished this book. I had to know from the moment she met Vinnie what was going to happen. He was hard, cold, alpha… and the romance was honest. Too many times we get the obvious formula. Characters meet in the first chapter, Characters have some sexual tension, characters hump by chapter four. That didn’t happen in the book.

It was honest.

Real.

I honestly felt the progression and the build up into first friendship, then them actually falling in love with one another. My heart broke for Grace and Vinnie more than once, but I got it. I was crying I was laughing I was rooting for Grace when she would get cheeky with Vinnie. And god I loved when he brought his flirt on with her. Because she was so totally not ready for flirt from the likes of Vinnie, but she sure pulled it off with ease. I don’t relate with Grace in many ways. However, in a lot I do. I want to be that strong confident woman first and foremost. However, I don’t think Anthony’s kink is perverted lol.

I’m gonna beg Kate for Anthony’s book, because I honestly think that he needs one. I feel bad for him, only because I relate with people thinking I’m ‘messed up’ because I’m a little kinky. Normally romances just don’t pull me in. I get bored and just let the book lie down. Something endeared me to this story though. I was totally lost and just couldn’t put it down. I wanted it to work, and it even ended on a note that a lot would need to be worked on.

I can’t wait for the rest of the series, but I have to say that Nice Girl was a book I would recommend to all my friends. Cheeky, fun, clever, and honest; what a great book!

**I received this book from the author in return for an honest review**

Friday, January 11, 2013

Review: The Beach House by R.L. Stine

It's 1956 and four kids are hanging out on the beach. Little do they know that a killer has begun to stalk them, one by one. Now, on the same golden sands nearly 40 years later, Ashley, Ross, Lucy and Kip are enjoying the same beach. Until history starts to repeat itself.


Kitten's Review:


This is the man that started it all…

The legend…

The Master…

The inspiration behind my need to write and the man that made me a book hoarder…

R.L. Stine…

This was the first book I ever read by him. I didn’t realize there were books out there that were for my age group that had some kissing, heavy petting, and a totally crazy psycho serial killer. Not to mention the beach house built on a time warp! Hello! For a twelve year old that was pretty amazing and graphic. In this story we follow two groups of teenagers. One group is in 1956, and the other is 40 years into the future. Basically, you are trying to figure out who the crazy one is, why he is crazy, and how can they stop him before he kills every teenager in this beach town.

R.L. Stine has a very simple way of making stuff scare the crap out of you. He doesn’t dose you with prose or over woven storylines. He’s basic, follows a formula, and makes her suck in a breath and itch for more. I like to call him the master of young adult fiction because at the moment it is so absorbed with paranormal romance love triangles. He gives the young adult section that edge for the readers that want a little bit of edgy slathered in death and gore. In a world where the bad guys are just the bad guys and the good guys do die, R.L. Stine will always hit a home run with me and this book!